Trip Advisor Review by Heidi S., October 13, 2011

Really nice place with a friendly and helpfull landlord - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed at the Marilyn Monroe room for 4 days -and everything was absolutely lovely, - clean, quiet and safe.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to actual review: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g32655-d1937404-Reviews-Essex_Manor_Hotel_Apartments-Los_Angeles_California.html

Trip Advisor Review by Jacques59, February 17, 2011


Good value, excellent management - 5 out of 5 stars

My wife and I stayed here for several weeks. The efficiency apartments are excellent for short-term stays of a month or more. They are clean, quiet, well appointed and everything works. The patio with BBQ grills, shaded tables and a hot tub are a nice plus. Quiet neighborhood with easy an walk to grocery stores and a few restaurants.Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple

Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 3 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to actual review: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g32655-d1937404-Reviews-Essex_Manor_Hotel_Apartments-Los_Angeles_California.html

Flip Key Review by Safarigold, July 5, 2011


Great accommodation, location a little out-of-the-way - 4 out of 5 stars

We were really happy at the Essex Manor.


Good-sized room for two people, nice that it has a separate dressing room and bathroom, well decorated and kitted out with everything you could need - plenty of fresh towels, waste-baskets etc. The bed is on the soft-side, though.


The kitchen was brilliant. Full-sized, fully-equipped and exactly what we needed.


The only draw-back for us was the location. If you are spending a lot of time on the west-side of L.A., West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Venice and Santa Monica etc, then get ready to spend a lot of time in the car. But if you're staying more around Downtown, Silverlake, East Hollywood, then it's a good option...


We would definitely consider staying again, depending on where most of our activitites were based.Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 3 out of 5 stars

Location: 2 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review:  http://www.flipkey.com/los-angeles-condo-rentals/p251725/#pdp-reviews-nav

Flip Key Review by BMWDave1968, July 6, 2011 for a stay in July 2011


Great location - 4 out of 5 stars


Great escape for a weekend trip. Our primary reason for going to la was for Universal Studios which was about a 15 minute drive. It was also easy to get to the la Farmers Market and The Grove. Very spacious for being a studio apt. We utilized the stove/fridge/microwave which saved on going out for a couple of meals. Outside of the many fireworks going off all weekend, it was very quiet for being in the city. When we opened the door to leave and check-out, we had caramel apples at the doorway in celebration for the 4th of July. Thanks for that, and the clean, safe place to stay.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 4 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review:  http://www.flipkey.com/los-angeles-condo-rentals/p251725/#pdp-reviews-nav

Flip Key Review by Dance Mom, August 31, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Charming - 4 out of 5 stars

We really enjoyed our stay in the Marilyn Suite at Essex Manor. It is exactly as it looks in the pictures. The Marilyn touches are tasteful, and it is clean and well kept. This suite has everything you need for a long term stay in L.A. The building is clean and secure. The neighbourhood is relatively quiet and clean, and only a few blocks from the metro station and busses. Not too much traffic noise at night. You 'could' sleep 4 people in this room but my teenage daughter and I did find it cozy with just the 2 of us. The memory foam mattresses make for the most wonderful sleep. My only peeve was that the hot tub is 'down' for the night at 9 o'clock. As we were quite often getting in at 8 or 8:30, this meant we didn't get to use the it as often as we would have liked. All in all, much better than staying in a motel or small hotel, and cheaper as well.

Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 3 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Tourists, Families w teenagers, Romantic, Rugged,

Link to Actual Review:  http://www.flipkey.com/los-angeles-condo-rentals/p251725/#pdp-reviews-nav

Trip Advisor Review by Kal125, September 26, 2011

Nice apartment good secure parking. - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a multi centre trip. The apartment was bright and clean, with a well equipped kitchen. It was in a nice area, fairly central. The carpark was great with a security gate so you didn't have to worry about finding a space. We didn't use the hot tub or bbqs but the area they looked good - we would have used them if we were staying longer. Checking in and out was easy and quick. We had problems finding the place as our sat nav didn't recognise the address, but Don the manager helped us over the phone.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Room Tip: I would maybe check before travelling that the sat nav if you are using one recognises the address, and if not print off a route planner just to be sure.”


Link to actual review: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g32655-d1937404-Reviews-Essex_Manor_Hotel_Apartments-Los_Angeles_California.html

Yelp Review by Marc O., January 28, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

WE stayed there for three days and loved it. The hotel is close to a subway station and the Rapid Bus 720 to Santa Monica.


We would definitely be back.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Denis T., April 11, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This was an excellent location for a 3 month, exploratory, stay in downtown LA. A short walk to the subway which can take you anywhere you want to go in LA County. The building is maintained with excellence and the staff and management team ensure all areas are clean and in great shape. The parking is safe and the building is very secure. I would not hesitate to request accommodations at this property for any long or short terms stays in this area again.  Although there is no housekeeping as the previous review indicate, I asked management to borrow a vacuum and broom and was able to maintain the apartment in satisfactory condition.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Liza G., April 16, 2011

5 out of 5 stars

This place was a great stay. The Apt/Rooms feel like your own little home. They come equiped with almost everything, and even though there was no housekeeping it didnt matter cause they provided a broom and mop to keep the place tiddy in case of any spills and such. We also had a bunch of towels, plenty of bedding and extra blankets in case it got chilly and a large flat screen television. The kitchen had dinnerware, cuttlery/silverware and pots/pans.  Like I said, this place had litterally everything.


The parking is in a gated lot which made me feel good about leaving my rental there.The location is kind of in the center of LA. Close to Melrose, Rodeo and about 5-15 min drives (unless in Traffic) to most beaches. Close walks to all public transportation.


All in all it was an amazing stay at a great place. I would reccomend this place to everyone. Especially with most Hotels now a days being either severly expensive, overpriced for their type of hotel, depressing looking or just horrible hotels with horrible reviews.  


They had a good rate, the room/hotel was great, and best of all it was all CLEAN. Def one happy camper :)


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Jessica A., June 29, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This place is very clean and fully equipped! The location isn't prime if you are wanting to spend a lot of time in Hollywood or West Hollywood (mostly due to traffic) but if you don't mind spending some windshield time or about $25 - $35 in taxi's, then it's good location. VERY close to downtown and easy access to highways!


For the location, price and how clean and fully equipped it was, i would definitely recommend it!


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Moses I., July 8, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

Very clean and fully equipped Kitchen , with gated private parking. We have stayed here on two occasions and will definitely stay again. Close to downtown and freeways.

Don, the Hotel manager is very helpful.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Maawiya A., July 15, 2011

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Hotel with Unbeatable prices.  My parents stayed there for a month and definitely enjoyed their stay.  Comes fully furnished with full kitchen and accessories, Flat screen TV with Cable, DVD, Laundry, gated parking with your own spot; the place is clean, on site staff friendly with Don the Manager very kind and Helpful.  My Parents loved it and will stay there again.

It is close to Wilshire Boulevard, the 10, 110 and 101 Freeways.  Great location next to major stores and groceries stores.  It does not get any better than that.  I highly recommend it.  Check it out, you will love it.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/filtered_reviews/-pWwvye7XmaXCfIG8W9uOw?fsid=E6jNiDQyHBCBBD3Kv1sUVw

Yelp Review by Mike C., April 21, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This is a great place to stay.  It is clean, quiet and affordable.  The apartment is fully equipped.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The location is central to all of the LA Metro Areas.  I would most definitely stay here again.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/biz/essex-manor-hotel-apartments-los-angeles?rpp=40&sort_by=date_desc

Yelp Review by Mark L., October 18, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

The apartment was clean and well equipped for self-catering. It was also handy for downtown LA, Santa Monica and Hollywood.


Link to actual review: http://www.yelp.com/biz/essex-manor-hotel-apartments-los-angeles?rpp=40&sort_by=date_desc

Hand Written Review, Approximately February 2011

Re: Moving


Thank you for allowing me to rent these past 16 odd months.  I really have enjoyed my time here and I must say Don has been incredibly helpful and informative.  He is an excellent Manager.


At this time I must give my month’s notice that I am going to move.  I have purchased a condo ....


Thank you again,

Reagan M.

E-mailed Review, January 13, 2011

To Who It May Concern:


FIrst I would like to start off by saying that I have enjoyed my time living here for the last eight years .... 


Management has been terrific and I would like to thank you for all that you have done during my time here.  All the best in the future.


Sincerely,


Romy A.

Mailed Greeting Card, December, 2010

Made the move ... with no hitches ....

It was great to have such a nice landlord as you all the 12 years I was living there!


Take care and have the best of Holidays!


Bruce T.

Letter Review, December 1, 2010

....

I have thoroughly enjoyed my tenure here at Essex Manor and my move is only prompted by the expansion of my family, as my wife and I are expecting our first child ... necessitating our need for a bigger apartment to accommodate our growing Family.

Sincere Thanks,

Mark D.

Letter Review, May 3, 2005

Thank you for the great apartment.  It has been a great year living here.  I have decided to get a room mate, so I will be moving unfortunately ..., and I thank you so much for the great apartment.

Sincerely,

Giovanni G.

Letter Review, August 4, 2004

....

It was a privilege to live here at Essex Manor.  My two years here were very enjoyable.  I would like to put out a special thanks to your Essex Manor manager, Don.  If I had any problem what so ever Don took care of it with out hesitation.  I only hope that my new manager is as good, friendly, mature and as quick to help out as Don is.

Thank you for the past two year,

Sean M.

Letter Review, March 4, 2004

....

I appreciate the years I have called Essex my home but with my work keeping me out of the state ....  I’m sorry to go and once again thank you for letting me call Essex my home.

Sincerely,

William O.

Letter Review, December 14, 2003

....

Thanks for everything, Don.  I’ve really enjoyed living here these past 2+ years, and you’ve been a really cool manager.  It’s only because of family ... I’ve decided to move.

Sincerely,

Victor O.

Letter Review, August 23, 2003

...thank you for giving me a great place to live for the last 18 months you’re a great managing company!

Sincerely,

Toni B.

Letter Review, June 29, 2003

....

You have been such a wonderful landlord and Don has really taken such good care of my apartment.  I have really appreciated it very much.

And, I will certainly miss the goodies on the holidays....it is a sense of family that is created when those treats are at our door!

....

Thanks again for being the best landlords I have ever had!

Kathleen G.

E-mailed Review,  October 19, 2011

Hey there,


.....


I was pretty pessimistic about finding a good apartment within my price range.  As a struggling writer, I didn’t have a ton of money to put toward rent and figured I would have to settle for a bad place.  I was wrong.


I checked out Essex Manor ’cuz it was affordable.  I stayed because the management there does such an amazing job caring for the tenants.  I’m not exaggerating when I use that term either -- they truly take “care” of the people living in their building.  They keep the place clean, give immediate attention to necessary repairs, invest in upkeep on the building’s aesthetic and maintain security.  And on top of that, I each of us received a small gift for just about every significant holiday of the year.  I always felt safe and comfortable there.


It has really been a terrific experience.


- Mathew B.

Wimdu Review by Jessica, October 18, 2011

Stayed in W.C. Fields Room in October

4 of us stayed here for our first trip to LA. And for the price we paid it was absolutely worth it. We were surprised to see how new the appliances were and how clean the place was. Extra clean sheets, tons of clean towels available right in the apartment for use. Super clean kitchen and appliances. A very well maintained place. There was free parking in a gated area by the building, which was great. The extra fun part is that there was a hot tub for my friends and I to chill in after a long day of touring the city. Great location, easy to drive to our destinations within the city. We are planning to stay here again for sure.


Thanks Heather for the prompt responses via email and our phone calls! Thanks to Don as well for being very helpful during our stay. We had a great time and our stay was awesome!! Jess

Letter Review, February 24, 2003

....

It has been great living here.

Maria B.

Letter Review, June 27, 2003

Thank you so much for your kindness and generosity...

You’ve created a “home” here for everybody and I thank you.

Bundy G.